Season’s Greetings: Fall 2015 Follow-up

So now that almost every show this season has 3 episodes under their belts, I figured it was time to give y’all an update on my thoughts for what I’m watching this season.  So without further ado…

Shomin Sample: This show is pretty bad thus far and I’m not expecting it to get any better, mainly I’m watching to see how it compares to Ladies vs Butlers so I can lambaste them both at a later date.

Owari no Seraph Season 2: It’s been very mediocre thus far and I don’t really expect to get much better, but this season has the potential to much messier in its human drama so I’m sticking around.

Comet Lucifer: This show still could turn out to be good but I’m dropping this one.  I’m not invested in the 13 year old cast at all and the girl driving the plot has the brain of a 2 year old.  That on its own isn’t terrible but I just got a double helping of that with Su and Papi in Monster Musume so I’m not in the mood for more at the moment.

Garo Guren no Tsuki: So far this show has been ok, but aside from the drastic shift in the setting very little has changed.  I’m glad they decided to reuse a bunch of the voice actors from Garo Hono no Koukuin because I think those folks did a great job.  I don’t really like the new protagonist, Raikou, or his attendant Kintoki, both their voice acting and their character designs leave much to be desired.  Seimei, voiced by the same seiyuu who did Emma in the first Garo is great but she’s the only one who really stands out thus far.  This could still be ok but unless something changes soon I doubt it will be as good as the first Garo.

Concrete Revolutio:  The first episode of this show was a clusterfuck, but since then the show has rapidly improved.  It’s chronology still jumps around some, but it’s handled much better than it was in episode one.  The characters and storytelling have made leaps and bounds, overall this show is looking much better and it’s got my interest now.

K Return of Kings: I’ve been a bit disappointed by this one.  It’s moving very slow right now, which isn’t inherently a problem but it looks this season will have major direct confrontations much earlier, so it should be moving faster.  Also a number of major developments have happened since the end of season one which I don’t think have been properly addressed, though they might have been in an OVA or special that I missed.  It still has a lot potential but it needs to either broaden the scope of things a bit, pick up the pace or advance the plot because it’s been pretty stagnant for the first three episodes.

Owarimonogatari: I love the Monogatari franchise and so far this particular branch of that sprawling series has been up to snuff.  I’m not entirely sure where it falls chronologically but I’m glad we finally are addressing the enigma that is Oshino Ougi.  That said of all the Monogatari shows this is probably the one that is the most densely packed/makes my head hurt the most thus far, so be warned it’s not for the those with a short attention span.

Noragami Aragoto: This has been great thus far.  Season one was very strong but had a lot more light hearted moments whereas this season has been darker and heavier from the get-go.  There isn’t much else to say about it this one, if you aren’t watching it you are missing out.

Utawarerumono Itsuwari no Kamen: This has been consistently good for all three episodes.  The characters are good thus far, the animation is gorgeous, and the action looks great.  I’m a bit worried that visuals aside this season may not live up to its prequel, but it looks damn good regardless and thus far it has delivered every episode.

One Punch Man: This is probably the best show airing at the moment.  It’s funny, the animation is interesting, and the fights are awesome.  All the episodes are good thus far and unless something drastically changes for the worse I have a hard time seeing how this show could be bad.  It makes for a very fun time so far.

2 thoughts on “Season’s Greetings: Fall 2015 Follow-up

  1. I’m going to be posting my thoughts on mine to. Right now the only two I’m enjoying this season is Sakurako-san and Heavy Object.

    Like

  2. I’ve heard so many people watching Concrete Revolutio. Maybe I should join in and give it a try. Some did recommend that if you enjoyed Kekkai Sensen or Rolling Girls, it’s worth a shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

