A Lovely Reward from … the D

one-lovely-blog-award

Honestly I’m feeling some deja vu here.  The sudden flurry of awards sending me scurrying back and forth is more or less what happened months ago… In any event I’ve got another award and this time the one I must give thanks to is D, the man who made my Halloween 2016 post happen at all, and generally an all around thoughtful and interesting guy, thanks dude.  Onto the dreaded, rules and regulations.

Rules and Regulations:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog
  • Add the One Lovely Blog Award to your post
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Pass this on to as many people as you like (max 15)
  • Include this set of rules
  • Inform your nominees

Right now that that’s out of the way, let me enlighten you all about the wonders of me, because what else would you expect from a post with a tag like “Blatant Narcissism” right?

1: I can speak in a strong Scottish accent, though I’ve gotten a bit rusty since doing it for years pissed a sibling off, and will switch tot he Scottish accent without midspeech without any reason or warning.

2: One time I drove under a burst water pipe, technically I was the passenger but whatever I experienced it, and it was like driving under a waterfall, for a point of reference the pipe was shooting a substantial amount of water about 50-60 feet in the air when we passed under it.

3: I briefly tried kendo once upon a time (i.e. like 3 years ago) to get some exercise while also building up my otaku cred but I gave it up because it was so limited in terms of the attacks you were allowed to do.

4: I have tried to write up a plan for reworking one of my favorite video games, Gladius, three times now ( I’ve given up midway because writing out all the moves, lore and shit by myself takes forever) and I’m currently starting a fourth attempt.

5: I read prodigiously, and as a result I enjoy using big words most people never say in casual conversation like prodigiously.  If you want any fantasy recommendations my advice is start reading Jim Butcher’s work.

6:  Like many young men, I am obsessed with swords, but unlike many people I prefer finding the weird or most historically interesting weapons instead of more well known weapons like the katana.  Currently my favorite weapon is the falx, a two handed sickle-sword (not a great description but I’ve no other concise term for the damn thing) invented by the Dacians (ancient Romanians) because it was so good breaking at helmets the Romans were forced to redesign their helmets to reduce casualties.  Any weapons that gave the Romans pause has my respect, though the fact that was famous for cutting people in half is a bonus too.

7: I love to quote and reference Monty Python and the Holy Grail all the time no matter how much it confuses people, and to be frank I’m a bit discouraged by how many people just a year or two younger than me have never seen this work of comedic genius, it’s truly a tragedy.

The Chosen of Nurgle:

Fujinsei

Akko Anime

DataportDoll

 

One thought on “A Lovely Reward from … the D

  1. I confess, I’ve never seen Monty Python and the references pass right over my head. Oops. Then again, i didn’t get any significant exposure to Western culture until my mid-teens and even then, it was mostly pop songs and modern shows. It was only recently that I even found about about Monty Python.

    Thanks for the shout out (though I feel compelled to clarify that I am not a man but a non-binary person).

    Like

Leave a Reply

